Updated on

Fair Housing Laws in Texas

Texas laws don’t offer any additional protections beyond what’s already included in the federal Fair Housing Act.

Texas abides by the federal Fair Housing Act, which outlaws discrimination against seven protected categories: race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, and disability.

State law doesn't protect any additional renters from discrimination

Although a number of states offer protection for additional categories such as sexual orientation or marital status, Texas does not. It does, however, reiterate the federal protected classes in the Texas Fair Housing Act1—meaning that tenants who have experienced housing discrimination can pursue legal action on both the state or federal level.

Some cities ban discrimination against additional groups

Certain cities in Texas have broadened their fair housing laws to protect additional categories. In Austin, for example, sexual orientation, gender identity, and status as a student are all protected from discrimination by law.2

[1] Texas Fair Housing Act

[2] Austin, Texas - Code of Ordinances § 5-1-1

The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice.